NDRC Statement on Nebraska’s Final Congressional Map

Washington, D.C. – Today, Kelly Burton, President of the National Democratic Redistricting Committee, released the following statement on Nebraska’s congressional map, which has now been signed into law by Gov. Pete Ricketts (R-NE): 

“We commend Nebraska’s Democratic state legislators, who tirelessly fought to block a partisan, Republican map that attempted to split Douglas County and the communities around Omaha to draw a district for political advantage. Their efforts forced a compromise between both parties, which led to a map that ensures Nebraska’s second congressional district will remain competitive in the House and in the Electoral College for the next decade.”